I did not make it.

For the second time around, I did not make it on my scholarship application for my Master’s degree. I did not meet their requirements of having a GPA better than 2.0. I was hopeful this time that I could make it because I am already enrolled in my first semester. They said lateral applications are more likely a priority. But because the semester is not done yet, I don’t have my MS grades. Since they have also a timetable for the selection of applicants, they based my application on my BS grades, of which I flunked one major subject and my GPA did not reached their minimum requirement, and was also the reason why I was not accepted on my first attempt to apply for the said scholarship.

I don’t have an excuse for my Bachelors degree’s performance. It’s already a past and a part of me. But sometimes, it still haunts me especially at times like this when I needed to apply for a scholarship grant. That feeling that you have already moved on to something from the past but the present doesn’t allow you to totally moved on from that certain mishap of your life.

When I did not make it on my first application, I decided to enroll in the University as a self-paying student. The Lord has greatly provided all my needs despite the high tuition rate, long distance travel, school requirements, time management with my work, and many other constraints I can name if I only focus on the odds of life. This semester the Lord has taught me a lot on trusting Him and on being dependent in Him. He is a great provider and has really blessed me much in many areas of my life.

I must admit it hurts when you prayed for something and the answer is a big NO. But I am thankful of this humbling experience to continue to trust in the Lord and walk with Him in faith. I am definitely crying right now as I am writing this but I know God is able and He sees what is best for me. And I choose to trust Him more and I believe all things work together for good. For now is a best time to completely put everything in His hands. The Lord is gracious and His blessings are limitless. I may not be able to qualify for this scholarship but it is not a basis that God will not provide. His plans are better than my plans.

The more we trust Him, the more He reveals His plans to us. The Lord is worthy to be praised even at times like this. To God be the glory!

Proverbs 19:21
“Many are the plans in a person’s heart, but it is the LORD’s purpose that prevails.”

Leave a Reply

